02
May
10

My Experience with Canon Tech Support

Last week, after taking several stills with my 7D and having shot with the 5D Mark II previously, I felt like I was really missing that extra something you can only find with the full frame sensor.  To be honest, I felt a little jaded too, as the E2i is essentially the 7D only lighter and 1k less.  Some colleagues of mine told me that the resell price would be determined by the shutter count.  However, they had no clue how to determine this.  So I scoured the net trying to find out how to find the shutter count.  There is some user-created software that claims to be able to determine the shutter count, but I couldn’t get it to even recognize my camera.  So I contacted Canon.

What I found out was more than just an answer to my questions, but a company that returned my emails by a real person.  They answered my questions very quickly and very clearly, as they have done since I purchased the camera 2 months ago.  I mention this not to ride Canon’s jock, but I work in a customer service driven industry myself, and I know how difficult it can be to answer the same questions over and over.  Questions regarding a feature, or questions that are not a clear warranty issue sometimes fall between the cracks.

Even if I do sell my 7D, I have to tell you, I will always be a Canon customer.  Their fast, informative and courteous responses have made a life long customer out of me, and I hope this story instills confidence in anyone thinking of buying an HDSLR from Canon.  Please see the email exchange below, with the answer for finding out the shutter count on a 7D.  Let me stress that these emails were answered within eight hours of when I sent them.

My First Email: Can you tell me how I can check the shutter count on my 7D? I’m thinking of reselling it, and I’m told they need the shutter count.

Canon’s Response: We appreciate your continued correspondence regarding your EOS 7D. I am > sorry to hear that you aren’t happy with your 7D.  If you have taken less than 9,999 shots and have not reset the file numbering you can determine the number of pictures by looking at the file number of your last picture. If you have taken over 9,999 shots or reset the file numbering (this also occurs after 9,999 pictures), only the service center can determine the number of shutter actuations.  I hope this helps. Please write to us again if you have any questions.  Sincerely, Erik Technical Support Representative.
My Second Email: How many shots do I have until the stability of the shutter is questionable?

Canon’s Response: The shutter has a listed durability rating of 150,000 shutter cycles. A shutter cycle is defined as a single full opening, closing and re-cocking of the shutter mechanism. I hope this information is helpful to you. Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance with your EOS 7D.  Thank you for choosing Canon.  Sincerely,  Dirk  Technical Support Representative.

4 Responses to “My Experience with Canon Tech Support”


  1. 1 Grace Kim
    May 2, 2010 at 2:05 PM

    I totally agree about Canon’s tech support. My experience with them has also been very good. They’re prompt and courteous. Thanks for sharing this post. It just re-affirms the integrity of the company. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Join 7 other followers

May 2010
S M T W T F S
    Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

